Sharpening Stones

• I have a norton system stone.likely the same as yours but I also have a few real old stones that I picked up over the years. I use the norton for kitchen knives but for my carving stuff and plane blades I use the old stones and plenty of oil. I think one is an arkansas [sp] stone and the honing stone is some white almost marble stone. Then I have a good leather strope to takes the wire edge off and makes it shaving sharp.

I would like a lanskey diamond in extra fine though!

• MF, I'm going to post a knife thread in the Guns section tonight or tomorrow, do a review of some of the knives in my collection (it's over 500 now), as well as some of the stones/sharpeners I'm currently using. I'm an amateur at best so far as stones/sharpening goes, but it's a fun pastime learning to improve technique and so forth. I have the full Spyderco stone set, and a few others, probably the same Norton you guys both have. I'm mainly using a small home belt sharpener right now, and use the stones for either very badly blunted edges, or very accurate touch up jobs.

Anyhow, I want to do some vids of the 7 or 8 knives Dannes has sent me specifically, as well as some of the folders and pocket knives I collect (small fixed blades are what I have the most of so far as knives new to me in the last year or so). I try and buy a new knife every week, plus I get tons for gifts, makes me easy to shop for so far as xmas/bdays/etc goes.

• Great topic... yes..move to guns! Ok... I use the Zwilling knife sharpener... fixed angle fine and coarse for my kitchen knives and have given away 6 or so to family and friends .. A couple of passes and a kitchen knife is beyond sharp.

For stones. I have a few Norton orange small shaped stones that are really good. I actually use em to sharpen box cutter blades... don't laugh.... it is faster than changing blades and every bit as sharp.