Sluggo et al - LP player recommendation

• I've got a fair number of records that were my mother's 50s/60s/70s music mostly, and I'd like to add to that little collection with some of my own older piping record/LPs, plus buy some of the newer titles being released/etc.

What's a really good player, and what should I be looking for, and watching out for? Looking at the Denon/Aud-Tech/Sony online on Amazon....I'm a complete noob. We've got a decent Denon receiver at our Calgary home, I wouldn't mind picking up a mid-range unit for my pop's place here in SK, speakers for him perhaps too (wireless?! yes/no?!, Calgary house is all sorted out already for everything except an LP/Record player, father's place needs..everything).

Seeing some of Sluggo's pics of the TV/speakers/player/etc - I wouldn't mind setting up something very similar for my father's main living room. 70" TV is wall mounted on a moveable wall bracket, but that's it other than the local cable company's control box.

• The most expensive one you can find.

You can identify an unknown force by firing one shot and judging the response.

- If the unknowns respond with precise, regimented rifle fire, they are British.

- If they respond with heavy machinegun fire, they are German.

- If nothing happens for a few minutes, then your whole position gets leveled by artillery, they are American.

- If they surrender, they're French.

:littlered

• Get a Rega. You'll also need a preamp with most modern receivers.

Of all tyrannies a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It may be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies, The robber baron's cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end, for they do so with the approval of their own conscience. — C.S. Lewis

:this