Honda CVT

• These are just observations about the CVT, Constant Velocity Transmission.

One thing bad right off the bat is it's a weak transmission in that you shouldn't tow very much at all. The limit is 1,500 lbs. I'm not even sure that is safe. The reason being is there is no first gear. I'm not an expert though I've heard that from experts. Ironically the CVT is quite good in hilly regions. That surprised me. The reason being is it finds the exact ratio for climbing a hill. They were banned for hill climbing in the early 1900s because they were so efficient. Leonardo Da Vinci invented it in 1490. That's a much earlier than I would have thought. He never patented it and a patent was issued in the late 1800s.

Here are my observations. The CVT is a constant shift transmission and a seemingly endless number of gear ratios. When I take off from a stop I generally leave the other cars way behind no matter the size of their engine. The reason being is they have fixed gears and fixed ratios. So while they have the slightest lag during shift my car continually is connected to the engine.

Another interesting observation is these cars will often floor the pedal to catch up and pass. You can hear them roaring by. It seems irritating to them. Personally I drive just a bit over the speed limit. I've found even driving 70 mph down a country road isn't fast enough.

Another observation is the gas mileage is greater than the cars with similar sized engines and the regular automatic transmission. A friend of mine gets about 4-5 miles less than the Honda and currently is about 10 miles per gallon less in the colder weather. Now that could be other factors.

I'll tell you I do wish I had some towing capacity at times so I could get a small boat to use for fishing. Other than that the CVT seems pretty good. Last thing, I have almost 109,000 miles on the car.

• Except for the belt cvt is great.

External Content youtu.be